Ignition Interlock Device

When you are convicted of a DWI/DUI in New Jersey, the court hands down a variety of punishments. Some of the sentences are aimed at punishing your bad behavior, some are aimed at educating and rehabilitating you and some are aimed at preventing you from driving with alcohol in your system again.

The New Jersey ignition interlock program falls into the third category. Under New Jersey law, drivers will be required to install an ignition interlock device in the following situations:

  • First DWI Offense: Unless your BAC level was .15% or higher, the judge will order an ignition interlock device to be installed in your vehicle. For those drivers that have the high BAC level, there is a mandatory ignition interlock device installation for the duration of his or her license suspension and for the first 6-12 months of restored driving privileges. This is required whether or not you own a motor vehicle and if you live outside of New Jersey.
  • Second DWI Offense: Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device during the license suspension period and 1-3 years following restoration of driving privileges. Again, this is required whether or not you own a motor vehicle and if you live outside of New Jersey.
  • Third DWI Offense: Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device during the license suspension period and 1-3 years following restoration of driving privileges. Once again, this is required whether or not you own a motor vehicle and if you live outside of New Jersey.

An interlock device requires the driver to blow into it in order to start his or her car and continue to drive their car. The device also will require the driver to randomly blow into it during their drive (sometimes as frequently as every thirty seconds) in order to ensure that alcohol was not consumed at some point during the drive. If the driver blows a BAC level of .05% or higher, the vehicle will not start.

Failure to install a required ignition interlock device in New Jersey will result in an additional year of license suspension. The presence of an ignition interlock device can be an embarrassing hassle but one that needs to be there. Breaking or ignoring the terms of your New Jersey ignition interlock device is something you do not want to deal with. Like the breathalyzer test, the device is not fool-proof in determining in your BAC and there are situations in which the results can and should be contested.

The Law Offices of Thomas Carroll Blauvelt

At the Law Offices of Thomas Carroll Blauvelt, I will fight for your legal rights and work hard to get you the best results possible. As a former DWI prosecutor and DWI public defender, I know both sides of the law and all the relevant defenses available to you at every stage of your case. I have successfully had hundreds of DWI cases dismissed or downgraded and have the experience you want on your side! I understand how frustrating and confusing a New Jersey DUI charge can be and during your first initial consultation, I am here to answer all your questions and explain the process to you. If you are dealing with a New Jersey DWI charge or issues related to your mandatory ignition interlock device, give me a call today. I am here to help. I look forward to speaking with you!