New Jersey Point System

Got A Traffic Ticket? Contact Me Before You Do Anything!

With the help of The Law Offices of Thomas Carroll Blauvelt, LLC, you can work to prevent expensive consequences for much cheaper than you think. As a lawyer with more than two decades of experience, I know New Jersey traffic courts and I know how to get results. Contact me at 800-375-3499.

"I was facing multiple fines and suspensions in addition to contempt fees on some old tickets. Tom not only managed to secure minimization of the existing tickets, but no points or additional suspends!! This means I can get my license back and I have him to thank for it." — Tina, a former client

Officers are quick to hand out tickets, and they will often cite you for as many violations as possible. The initial ticket may be worth only two points, but you could easily walk away with a much higher total. Do you have any points on your record already? Even a low-level traffic stop could end up costing you your license.

Once you hit six points in three years, the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) can put you on probation and fine you additional surcharges. These charges can even continue for up to three years. Once you hit 12 points, the MVC will move to suspend your license. If you receive a scheduled suspension notice, contact me immediately. I can help you fight the suspension.

Common High-Point Offenses And Their Potential Penalties

Under the New Jersey points system, offenses are designated a specific point value ranging from two to eight. It is important to remember that although it is referred to as "the point system," a single offense or combination of offenses on your record can result in serious fines, increased insurance rates, dropped coverage, license suspension and even jail time.

Distracted driving remains a hot button issue. In New Jersey, a third-offense cellphone violation is now also a 3-point offense with the possibility of up to 90-day license suspension and a $600 to $800 fine.

Listed below are some examples of violations. In every instance, the accrual of new points and those already on your driving record could result in additional surcharges and license suspension issued by the NJMVC. In many cases, multiple offenses of the same type may increase penalties such as doubling the fines.

Two-Point Offenses: Surcharges and penalties associated with the accrual of points or multiple offenses.

  • Speeding of 0-14 mph
  • Careless driving
  • Failure to yield to a pedestrian
  • Failure to observe traffic signals

Three-Point Offenses: Increased surcharges in addition to penalties associated with lesser-point offenses.

  • Illegal U-turn
  • Third-offense cellphone violation

Four-point offenses: Increased surcharges in addition to penalties associated with lesser-point offenses.

  • Improper passing
  • Improper turn at traffic light
  • Speeding of 15-25 mph
  • Passing in a no-passing zone or on right

Five-point offenses: You could face license suspension for a single offense, community service and jail time of up to 15 days in addition to penalties associated with lesser-point offenses. Judges have discretion to award maximum penalties and are known to do so in these cases.

  • Fraud: making, altering or using counterfeit plates or registration or obtaining an ID through deception
  • Improper passing of a school bus
  • Speeding 30 mph or more over posted limit
  • Reckless driving
  • Racing on a highway
  • Tailgating

Eight-point offense: In addition to all penalties associated with lesser offenses, you could face criminal charges and serious jail time.

  • Leaving the scene of an accident involving injury

Attentive Representation | I Answer My Phone Seven Days A Week

If you would like to speak directly to a hands-on, experienced attorney about effective solutions for you, simply call my law firm. Dial 800-375-3499 or submit your information online to schedule our first consultation.