${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Don't wait. Get a Free Consultation Now.
800-375-3499

New Jersey's marijuana possession laws

The legalization of marijuana is a hot topic in the U.S. Many states have taken steps toward its de-criminalization, while others still issue severe criminal punishments for possessing even small amounts of marijuana - New Jersey lies somewhere in the middle. While it is still illegal to possess marijuana for non-medical purposes, the laws have lightened the punishments for users possessing very small amounts of pot.

Below is a brief overview of New Jersey's marijuana laws:

Patients who have been prescribed medical marijuana, or who have doctor recommendations, can possess up to two ounces per month. Only certain doctors are qualified to recommend medical marijuana.

If you do not have a doctor's recommendation for medical marijuana possession of any amount of the drug is illegal for any purpose. However, not all charges are treated equally.

Possession of less than 50 grams is a disorderly person's offense. A disorderly person's offense is similar to a misdemeanor. It is still a crime, but the consequences of a conviction are less serious.

If you are convicted of a disorderly person's offense for marijuana possession, you face up to $1,000 in fines and a possible six months in jail, as well as the possibility of 100 hours of community service.

Possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana is an indictable crime. Indictable crimes are similar to felonies and punishment for a conviction is severe. An indictable possession charge alone can result in fines up to $25,000 and up to a year and a half in prison.

Depending on the circumstances you could be charged with possession with the intent to distribute. Penalties for this crime are much more severe and depend on the amount of marijuana involved. For example:

  • One ounce to five pounds can result in up to five years in jail and $25,000 in fines.
  • Five pounds to 25 pounds carries a jail sentence up to 10 years and up to $150,000 in fines.
  • 25 pounds or more can result in up to 20 years in jail and $300,000 in fines.

If you find yourself facing criminal charges for marijuana possession, it is in your best interests to contact an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • Super Lawyer Thomas Carroll Blauvelt Selected in 2015 Thomson Reuters
  • Super Lawyer Thomas Carroll Blauvelt Selected in 2016 Thomson Reuters
  • Avvo Rating 10.0 Superb Top Attorney DUI
  • Client Distinction 2016
Email Us For A Response

Get Legal Help Now. Contact My Firm Today.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Convenient office locations

East Brunswick Office
9 Auer Court, Suite E
East Brunswick, NJ 08816

Toll Free: 800-375-3499
Fax: 732-248-0747
Map & Directions

Fort Lee Office
1 Bridge Plaza
2nd Floor
Fort Lee, NJ 07024

Toll Free: 800-375-3499
Map & Directions

Piscataway Office
200 Centennial Avenue
Suite 200
Piscataway, NJ 08854

Toll Free: 800-375-3499
Map & Directions

Hamilton Office
100 Horizon Center Boulevard
1st / 2nd Floor
Hamilton, NJ 08691

Toll Free: 800-375-3499
Map & Directions

Bridgewater Office
991 Route 22 West
Suite 200
Bridgewater, NJ 08807

Toll Free: 800-375-3499
Map & Directions

Jersey City Office
2500 Plaza 5
Harborside Financial Center
25th Floor
Jersey City, NJ 07311

Toll Free: 800-375-3499
Map & Directions

Morristown Office
55 Madison Avenue
Suite 400
Morristown, NJ 07960

Toll Free: 800-375-3499
Map & Directions

Woodbridge Office
581 Main Street
6th Floor
Woodbridge, NJ 07095

Toll Free: 800-375-3499
Map & Directions

En Español - Skype
ગુજરાતી 한민족 or 조선민족
Credit Cards